Restaurant Arpège: my favorite in Paris!

I’ve written about Restaurant Arpège before (Check out: Some of my favorites from Paris: l’Arpège). However, this being my favorite restaurant, I think it deserved another post 🙂 In the last three months, I’ve had a chance to eat there twice and I just wanted to share some of the highlights with you.

During my October visit, scallops were just back in season so when I saw the scallop carpaccio on the menu I had to get it. I ordered à la carte and you have the option to order half portions (this allows you to taste more dishes), which I did since I had my eye on another appetizer. The scallops were served with radishes and geranium oil. A gorgeous dish that’s also delicious!

IMG_0770 - scallops.jpg

The sommelier paired this dish with a glass of Chenin from Anjou in the Loire Valley: 2015 Les Roches Sèches Les Varennes. It was really a fantastic pairing and I’ll definitely put it in my repertoire for future dinner parties.

My favorite dish at l’Arpège (and in the world) is the beetroot tartare – this was my second starter. It is simply heavenly. This is one of the signature dishes here though certain elements of the dish change daily. That day, it was served with parmesan.

DSC09194 - tartare.jpg

The wine of choice was a Riesling: 2013 Zusslin by Clos Liebenberg. Lovely match!

For the main course, I ordered the sweetbreads, which was prepared with chestnuts and salted butter from St. Malo. I absolutely love sweetbreads and if it’s on the menu I always order it. Since I love it so much, I opted for the full portion. And what a portion! I was stuffed by the time I was done.

DSC04140.jpg

I had a glass of white from Pays de l’Herault: Les Clapas Blanc from Domaine du Pas de l’Escalette from Languedoc in Southern France, which worked really well to balance the richness of the dish.

DSC04162.jpg

It was a lovely meal that lasted quite a few hours. At the end of the meal, I was invited to join Alain Passard in his office for some Champagne. La vie est belle!

image000000.jpg

I went back to Restaurant Arpège about a week ago and instead of my usual à la carte meal, I went with the tasting menu. Course after course of delicious food. Pure decadence 🙂

We started out with the beetroot sushi. So beautiful!

DSC09115 - sushi.jpg

This was followed by beetroot hummus. Now, I’ve spent more than six years in the Middle East and I’ve eaten my fair share of hummus (it’s pretty much a staple food there). But this one was amazing! So creamy and definitely the best hummus I’ve ever had.

DSC09120 (1).jpg

The sommelier poured us a glass of Savennières from the Loire Valley. Clos des Perrières by Domaine Soucherie. It never occurred to me to pair Savennières with hummus but it really worked.

Then we had the potatoes mousseline with black olive emulsion and Jerusalem artichoke chips. Of my goodness, this was simply divine! Who know the simple potato could taste so good! I know I’m weird in that I’m not really a fan of potatoes but this dish really knocked me off my feet.

DSC09133 - mousselin.jpg

Then we had the radish risotto with a general shaving of truffles (and instead of rice, the risotto was made with radishes).

DSC09152 - truffle risotto.jpg

This was followed by a buckwheat waffle served with tarama made with seabass roe and eel. This was also ridiculously delicious and became one of my favorites at l’Arpège!

DSC09173 (1).jpg

We drank a glass of Meursault: Clos Richemont Premier Cru by Henri Darnat. Meursault works so well with creamy dishes (I’ve written a blog post about it. Check out: Cream and simple flavors make Meursault shine) and as suspected, this was a fantastic match!

The main course was guinea fowl with celeriac puree, liver, Jerusalem artichoke and cream infused with Portuguese lemons.

DSC09209 - guinea fowl.jpg

This was paired with a glass of from Bordeaux: Cotes de Castillon by Domaine de l’A. I initially thought that this Bordeaux would be a bit too heavy for the guinea fowl but it worked really well!

DSC09203 - guinea fowl 2.jpg

For dessert, we had the usual plate of gourmandises.

DSC09221 - gourmandise.jpg

As well as a walnut cream puff.

DSC09227 - choux.jpg

We had so many courses and I’ve only listed the highlights here. It was another meal that lasted hours! And of course a trip to Restaurant Arpège wouldn’t be complete without a picture with Alain Passard. One of the servers called this a rite of passage 🙂

IMG_0903 - passard.jpg

If you haven’t been to l’Arpège yet, you’re definitely missing out! Next time you’re in Paris, make sure to give it a try. You won’t be disappointed.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About that perfect bottle

I love all things food, wine, and travel!

One response to “Restaurant Arpège: my favorite in Paris!”

  1. truthsayer888 says :

    You capture the tours de force at l’Arpege so well!! Beetroot is my favorite vegetable, and it seems like no place does it better–the beetroot tartare with Parmesan along with the Riesling 2013 Zusslin sounds heavenly, and I want to try that beetroot hummus too. Looks like I’m going to Paris this summer and I know where I’m dining–at least 1 night. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

