Home-cooked highlight from New York: White truffles

When I was in New York, I bought a fresh white truffle. This is indeed a rare treasure for me! White truffles are amazingly aromatic and flavorsome (much more than black truffles). The best come from the Piedmont region of Italy. It is best to serve these truffles raw and shave them over food.

truffle

You can shave truffles on a variety of foods, such as eggs, pasta (especially taglierini or tajarin), risotto, etc. I decided to make a mushroom risotto to feature the truffle. To echo the earthiness of the truffle, I put portabella, crimini, and porcini mushrooms in the risotto. Once the risotto was plated, I grated the truffle directly on top.

risotto

With the risotto, I served wild scallops seared in olive oil and butter.

dish

Needless to say, this was an amazing dish to savor! There are a variety of wines that you can serve truffles. They are particularly great with Italian reds from the same region – in particular Barolo, Nebbiolo or Barbaresco. If I had served the risotto on its own or with some red meat, I would have chosen one of these wines. However, truffles are flexible and you can also serve a white wine, such as a buttery and rich Chardonnay or an off-dry Riesling – especially if serving them with scallops, like I’m doing here (scallops would go great with both wines just on their own). My friend chose a very nice bottle of Riesling from Colombia Valley in Washington to drink with dinner. The sweetness of the Riesling gives the wine richness, which worked wonderfully to match rich texture of the scallops as well as the creamy and buttery risotto. The wine also nicely echoed the delicate sweet flavor of the scallops. It was a delicious meal paired with a perfect wine!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About that perfect bottle

I love all things food, wine, and travel!

Leave a Reply

