Dining and wining highlights from New York

I’m spending some time in the US this January (mainly New York and DC) and I’ve had opportunities to eat at some really amazing restaurants and drink some wonderful wine. Here are some of the highlights from New York (DC highlights to come):

Batard

This restaurant opened up in recent months in Tribeca. It is mostly a European inspired menu. For my appetizer, I had the octopus pastrami served with braised ham hock, pommery mustard and new potatoes. This dish is not only delicious but also beautiful! It almost looks like a piece of art. I didn’t take a picture of it but my friend had the braised artichokes served barley, poached hen’s egg, and eiswein sabayon.

octopus 1

For the main course, we both had the Wiener schnitzel. This is actually a secret dish that is always available but is never listed in the menu (paying homage to the chef’s country of origin – Austria).

schnitzel

With both our appetizers and the schnitzels, we had a bottle of Saint-Aubin: 2013 La Pucelle made by Pierre-Yves Colin-Morey.

st aubin

I think this bottle worked very well with all of our dishes. It was really great with the chicken schnitzel; it also worked with the octopus, especially since it was prepared with pork; and it also was a fantastic wine to drink with my friend’s dish (neither eggs nor artichoke are foods that pair easily with wine but braising the artichoke made it really soft and buttery and that combined with creaminess of the egg and sabayon created a dish that matched the wine surprisingly well!).

Bare Burger

I really wish Abu Dhabi had a Bare Burger! I really love the burgers here. They have such interesting ones as bison, elk, and ostrich. And they will cook them to the temperature you like – I love my burgers cooked medium-rare. I ordered a bison burger with sharp cheddar, lettuce, pickle, and tomato on a brioche bun. I also ordered a side of onion rings.

burger

I think Zinfandel and burgers are a match made in heaven! I ordered a glass of Predator Old Vine Zinfandel, which is in the Lodi appellation in the Califonia’s Central Valley. It was such a wonderful pairing!

Cherche Midi

This French bistro opened recently in Nolita. The décor is very nice and they have an open kitchen – I always love peeking into the kitchen to see the how the food is prepared. The highlight of the meal was the dry-aged prime rib. In the picture the steak looks on the red side because I prefer my steak cooked rare to blue. The steak is served with cider braised onions and pommes soufflés.

steak 1

We had an excellent bottle of Côte-Rôtie from the Rhone region with our steak. It is the Petite Feuille by Clusel Roch from 2011. It was a fantastic pairing with the steak!

cote rotie

Momofuku Ssam Bar

This is one of my favorite places to eat in New York! Momofuku Ssam is famous for its steamed pork buns. While I also love the cheaper street versions, the steamed buns here are just out of this world!

pork buns 1

Of course, what better wine to serve with these pork buns than a Beaujolais made with the pork-loving gamay grape! I had a glass of Morgon – the most robust of the Beaujolais crus. This 2013 Morgon is made by Jean Paul Thevenet. It worked fabulously with the pork buns!

Even though the pork buns were the main reason for my trip to Momofuku Ssam, I couldn’t resist trying their oysters. As an appetizer, we shared a dozen oysters from Washburn Island in Massachusetts.

oysters

And I paired that with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc from California: 2013 Lieu Dit from Santa Ynez Valley. They did not serve any lemons with the oysters but the citrus aromas in the wine complemented the oysters really well.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About that perfect bottle

I love all things food, wine, and travel!

Leave a Reply

